Shericka Jackson earns nomination for 2024 Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year honor

February 27, 2024   -Reigning Women’s World Athletics 200m champion, Shericka Jackson, has been nominated for the esteemed 2024 Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year award, solidifying her status as one of the top athletes in the world.

The announcement, made on Monday, highlights Jackson’s exceptional performances on the track throughout the past year.

Jackson’s remarkable achievements include clinching her second world 200m title in Budapest with an impressive time of 21.41 seconds, positioning her as the second-fastest woman of all time in the event, just seven hundredths of a second shy of Florence Griffith-Joyner’s 35-year-old record.

Personal best of 10.65 seconds

In addition to her world championship triumph, she also secured a silver medal in the 100m event and showcased her dominance in the 2023 Diamond League, where she claimed victories in both the 100m and 200m races. Her exceptional form was further underscored by a personal best of 10.65 seconds at the Jamaica national championships in June.

Jackson finds herself in the esteemed company of two other track and field luminaries: Women’s World 100m champion Sha’Carri Richardson of the USA and Kenya’s Faith Kipyegon, who made history by winning both the 1,500m and 5,000m events at the World Championships.

The list of nominees for the Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year award also includes outstanding athletes from various disciplines, such as Spanish footballer Aitana Bonmati, American skier Mikaela Shiffrin, and Polish tennis sensation Iga Swiatek.

Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce claimed the prestigious award in 2023

Notably, Jamaica’s Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce claimed the prestigious Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year award in 2023, adding an extra layer of distinction to Jackson’s nomination as she follows in the footsteps of her illustrious compatriot.

The Laureus World Sportsman of the Year category features an equally formidable line-up, including athletes such as Noah Lyles, Novak Djokovic, Mondo Duplantis, Lionel Messi, Erling Haaland, and Max Verstappen.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *