Jamaican actress Sheryl Lee Ralph to receive Hollywood Walk of Fame star

June 27, 2023  -CNW News  -Popular Jamaican-American actress Sheryl Lee Ralph will be among the entertainers to receive the stars on the Hollywood Hall of Fame.

The Abbott Elementary actress was overjoyed on Monday after receiving the news made by Ellen K, chair of the Walk of Fame Selection Panel.

The honorees were chosen from hundreds of nominations at a meeting conducted on June 16, 2023, and validated by the Hollywood Chamber of Commerce’s board of directors on June 21, 2023, according to the selection panel’s announcement.

“The committee did an amazing job choosing these very talented people. We can’t wait to see each honoree’s reaction as they realize that they are becoming a part of Hollywood’s history with the unveiling of their star on the world’s most famous walkway,” Ellen K said.

The proud Jamaican actress is included in the television category of honorees who are now known as the Hollywood Walk of Fame Class of 2024.

Her compatriots in that category are Ken Jeong, Eugene Levy, Mario Lopez, Jim Nantz, Michael Schur, Kerry Washington, and Raúl De Molina and Lili Estefan, co-hosts of the television show El Gordo y La Flaca.

The motion pictures category comprises Chadwick Boseman (posthumous), Kevin Feige, Gal Gadot, Maggie Gyllenhaal, Chris Meledandri, Chris Pine, Christina Ricci, and Michelle Yeoh.

In the category recognizing musical recordings are Glen Ballard, Toni Braxton, Def Leppard, Charles Fox, Sammy Hagar, Brandy Norwood, Darius Rucker, Gwen Stefani, and Andre “Dr Dre” Young.

Other honorees are Jane Krakowski and Otis Redding (posthumous) in the category of live theatre/live performance; Angie Martinez, radio; and Billie Jean King and Carl Weathers in the sports entertainment category.

This will not be the first time Ralph is recognized for her work as the  Emmy-winning actress was among 143 Jamaicans highlighted at Jamaica’s National Awards ceremony late last year.

She was invested with the Order of Jamaica, the nation’s fifth-highest honor, for her  contribution to the international film industry.

Other awardees included five-time World Champion Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, Culture, Entertainment, Sports, and Gender Minister, Olivia ‘Babsy’ Grange; the late business stalwart and founder of the Jamaica Money Market Brokers Ltd (JMMB), Joan Duncan; and renowned Jamaican jazz pianist, Monty Alexander.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *