Elizabeth de Cuba nominated as member of the Board of financial supervision Curaçao and Sint Maarten

eptember 29, 2023  -Willemstad/The Hague – Upon proposal of Curaçao, the Kingdom Council of Ministers approved the intention to appoint Ms. J.E. on September 29th, 2023 (Elizabeth) de Cuba as a member of the Board of financial supervision Curaçao and Sint Maarten (Cft).

Elizabeth de Cuba was born and raised in Aruba and has been living on Curaçao since 2010. After completing her Master’s degree in Economics & Business at the Erasmus University Rotterdam and her training as a chartered accountant, Ms. De Cuba worked for several years in the position of audit manager at the assurance department of EY Dutch Caribbean. There she served local and international clients, including several financial institutions.

From 2017 to 2022 Ms. De Cuba, by then associate director, worked in EY Caribbean’s Professional Practice Group. In this group she was partly responsible for quality management amongst others. In this capacity she has worked closely with accountants in Trinidad & Tobago, Jamaica, Barbados, Saint Lucia and Suriname and other countries. In addition from 2018 to 2020 Ms. De Cuba taught students who followed the master’s program in Accountancy & Controlling at the University of Curaçao the subject of Auditing. She currently has her own agency, which is specialized in Accounting, Auditing and Finance.

The appointment of Ms. Elizabeth de Cuba as Cft member will take effect on October 1st, 2023. She will succeed Mr. Gregory Damoen, who has been the member of the Cft upon proposal of Curaçao for two terms, as from 2017.
Ms. Lidewijde Ongering declares looking forward to working with Elizabeth de Cuba: “She has a solid substantive background. That is very welcome”.

In addition to chairman Ms. Lidewijde Ongering, the Board of financial supervision Curaçao and Sint Maarten currently consists of Hans Hoogervorst (member upon proposal of the Netherlands) and Ms. Julisa Frans (member upon proposal of Sint Maarten) and the outgoing member (upon proposal of Curaçao) Gregory Damoen. The Cft will visit Curaçao and Sint Maarten for the first time in its new composition coming October.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *